more from
Labile Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7 USD  or more

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Pathways via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 4 days

      $9 USD or more 

    You own this  


Pathways 06:39
Solstice 06:32


With Pathways, Drifting in Silence joins forces with Drew M. Geiger of E J R M. The album is strident and victorious, blazing a path forward. While still squarely within the meditative realm of ambient and drone, there is momentum to the music, a definite pace. Derrick Stembridge (the man behind Drifting in Silence) interlinks roaming piano, tender guitar, and aching strings with his signature lush pads. Like a flower blooming, the tranquil beauty of this steadily unwinding album is only more apparent in time. Drew M. Geiger of E J R M adds an overall organic texture across the album.

Pathways by Drifting In Silence and E J R M is perhaps the most characterful release to date and etched within the sounds of these five tracks; there is a definite drama and a deliberate execution of various evocative scenes.

The sudden arrival of guitars on “Silent Patterns II” feels like an old friend returning. The harmonics spill forth in jubilation, and the rich pads beneath swell to greet them. The shifting piano of “Pathways” acts as an eager guide, escorting the listener through the textured drones with a sense of imperative. The shaking strings of “Remember This Time” are earnest and imply an intense emotional nostalgia that spills right out of the speakers.

Pathways is a dynamic push forward for Drifting in Silence and E J R M. While the album twists through various dispositions, the crafted tones speak a language for the path ahead.

Pathways mastered by longtime collaborator and ambient/drone powerhouse Rafael Anton Irisarri (other credits include Julianna Barwick, Grouper, and Tycho).


released February 11, 2022

All songs were written and recorded by Derrick Stembridge and Drew M. Geiger.


all rights reserved



Drifting In Silence Raleigh, North Carolina

Drifting in Silence is the name of a longstanding ambient project undertaken by multi-instrumentalist and composer Derrick Stembridge. Stembridge chose the name as "a description of the feeling evoked by the music," intended to create the sensation of movement through regions of light and shadow. ... more

contact / help

Contact Drifting In Silence

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account